Marriage

Standard

I don’t understand it. How do I live in a world where there are folks who think that gay marriage will not only undermine straight marrige, but cause the end of the world?
Folks, forgive me if I am wrong, but isn’t marriage a legaly binding contract, when you remove all of the frou frou stuff that your religious body may add? I mean, strip it down to its bones, and you are doing a merger. Yes, I just called something that many people long to do a business acquisition. Because it is. If it was not, why must you fill out more paperwork,are given perks(like lovely little tax write offs), and have to state if you are married on taxes and other things of govermental ilk?
Like adopting a child.
But we tend to not see that, the legal/logical side. No, we are told over and over again by Dobson and others like him that it is wrong,and that only a man and woman should do it. Because God said so.
Mr. Dobson, if God said so, then your religious group is entitled to say “no, we won’t add the frou frou frosting on your gay wedding cake”. But do not sit there and say that it would bring down the institution of marriage as we know it. The institution of marriage has changed so many times SIR, that a man from the middle ages, if brought here…
his head would friggin spin. During that time, when the idea of legal marriage was thought up(by men..sorry folks), it was just so the husband could keep tabs on his possessions and so forth. Not because god ordained it. But because he wanted to move up in the world, and the only way to do that, was with a wife. Women at the time were under the watchful eye of their father,only to be transferred to another male owner. They hardly had any rights, and were little better than slaves. So, if this is the idea of marriage that you have sir, then you are sadly mistaken. Now, marriage takes a different form: folks who marry for love(my mom and dad). My mother is a doctor, and a single parent. Yes, she had me outside of wedlock(the hussy). My stepdad is a retired police officer who now works for the sherriff. During their courtship, MOM set the town for the marriage and had him sign a prenup. When they married, she kept her last name but hyphined it so that he would stop whinning about her not having his name. As you can see, a totally different face of marriage. And there are more like this who pop in and everyday. Different ages,races,etc. So, two men marrying or two women will not change it much except in the adding of a facet on an already diverse….action.
Gays will not destroy marriage, but instead stregnthen it. At the very best, they will put straights to shame because they will NOT take the vows for granted. At the very worst, they will be just like everyone else, leaping into marriage too soon and having to deal with divorce. Oh yes, that is my other response. If marriage is so sacred, why do more than half of people who marry get divorced? Could it be that marriage is not as sacred as we think it is, but instead is in need of an overhaul? I wouldn’t know as that I am a single seeker who is a sodimite.
So Mr. Dobson, why can’t we have marriage again?

About All My Eggs

I'm weird. Really weird. And I tend to talk about things that interest me. That being religion, education,sex-related bits, and family. I talk about myself and my journey to disbelief also. Hense the name All my Eggs.

Leave a Reply

