Things not said in polite company: 2008

Standard

When I am queen,I will decree that birth control would be not only be free, but with it comes a comprehensive sexual education class. You know what I am talking about, the class most of us slept through except those who just had to make an A. “But Monica…” you say, “won’t that make people have sex MORE?”
Poppycock.If anything it would enforce a feeling of responsibility, and hopefully that would lower the rates of illegitamate births and abortions. But I could be wrong.

You know what some self righeous people tell to girls who just get knocked up? “Well that is your problem, you should have kept your legs closed.” Excuse me? Her WHAT? So you’re telling me if a woman got knocked up she should just take it in stride? What if she doesn’t have the money or the family cohesiveness that some other women may have? And what if she gives the child up for adoption? Does that make her less of a woman? No.
But that is besides the point mr and mrs holier than thou. Because then you go one further with the smugness. You then tell them they cannot abort because it is a life that is sacred. Alright, let me get this straight. It’s a problem AND a life? I’d say she got the short end of the stick. And what she needs now more than anything is someone to really hold her hand and help her out instead of pointing fingers and being all i am better than you. In other words, if you are so sure the life is sacred, either help her out by giving of time or resources or the adult thing…adopt the child yourself.
But some folks won’t do that, because they take joy in putting others down because they can, using Christianity and other belief systems as a freaking cloak to make themselves appear holy to others all the while giving a black eye to the faith they are supposed to represent. Which then just makes us look bad.

About All My Eggs

I'm weird. Really weird. And I tend to talk about things that interest me. That being religion, education,sex-related bits, and family. I talk about myself and my journey to disbelief also. Hense the name All my Eggs.

2 responses »

    • Girl, let me tell you, it’s insane. It isn’t even Sex Ed. It’s more like Shame Education. You ever been around someone who was told that sex before marriage leads to demon possession? It’s a scary thing.

Leave a Reply

