Speeding Cars

Standard

I went to my first job interview, and as nature would dictate, my first rejection happened.

I spoke kindly of my former bosses, even though two of them borderline stalked me. I explained how my degree would aid children, and talked about my life growing up with ADHD. I explained what methods I’d use, because they were things I had to learn in order to keep myself from being distracted by various shiny things.

Yet, they didn’t want me. Even though I had a Bachelor’s of Science and have worked with kids before.

The idea is that I might have made them feel stupid. Which I laughed until my mom explained it to me. She talked about how if something in a conversation really interests me, I pop up with facts which makes me appear like a know it all. Which sucks because I’m not saying “hey I know this!” to feel superior. Some things excite me.

So far, I’ve been told to “tone it down” and not show off intellectually. I don’t get it. So I have to play dumb to get a job in a arena where one would hope that their workers were intelligent? How does that even work?

And I’m not to talk about my ultimate goals which include Graduate and Doctorate schools?

I’m not going to give up. I’m just frustrated and confused. Wtf.

About All My Eggs

I'm weird. Really weird. And I tend to talk about things that interest me. That being religion, education,sex-related bits, and family. I talk about myself and my journey to disbelief also. Hense the name All my Eggs.

18 responses »

  1. Yeah, that’s the thing. You’d think rational arguments win, but they rarely do. It’s all about emotions, having good feeling with someone, blah blah blah. It’s not so much as playing dumb, it’s more… picturing the kind of person you think they like and then adjusting the information you send out so that they think you are that person. Manipulation can only work in your advantage! (as long as you don’t lie on your cv, which I doubt would be necessary in your case)

  2. I’ve run into the same problem in the past, but now I try and not hide my true self at all. When I try and give them answers they want, I know I’m not “honestly applying” for the job. After having too many jobs where I “gave the right answers” in order to get the job — I realize that by being honest, I’ve had so much more fun and enjoyment from my current job, in which I was honest and open and quirky.

    I have skills and you have skills. There is nothing wrong with “being smart” and showing it. There is nothing wrong with being honest about your goals to go to graduate school. I, too, don’t see myself at a job FOREVER (unless it is my own company, which I hope to open someday). Keep on trying and remember that it is better to be working for a company that likes you for you, rather tha company that likes you for knowing the answers they want to hear.

Leave a Reply

